SPJ DePaul Named National Chapter of the Year

EIJ Awards 2013
SPJ Depaul President Brianna Kelly (left) and Ali Trumbull (right) with the SPJ National Campus and Region 5 Chapter of the Year awards. Kelly is holding the SPJ Mark of Excellence Award DePaul won for Election 2013 coverage and Trumbull is holding her Julie Galvan Award for being the top graduating student in SPJ. (Photo/Meg Wagner)

SPJ DePaul was named National Campus Chapter of the Year for the second time in three years on Aug. 25 at the Excellence in Journalism Conference in Anaheim, Calif.

The DePaul chapter, founded in 2010 in DePaul’s College of Communication, also was named the Region 5 (Illinois, Indiana and Kentucky) Chapter of the Year.

“These honors are a great testament to our chapter’s hard work, particularly the leadership of our executive board,” said SPJ DePaul adviser Mike Reilley. “Winning National Chapter of the Year once is a great feat. Twice is a reflection of our students’ consistently strong work in the field of journalism.

Judges cited the chapter’s innovative and well-attended events and programming, use of digital technologies and its increased membership. At 73 members, SPJ DePaul is one of the largest student chapters in the nation.

SPJ DePaul competed with 11 other regional winners for the national award.

Read more: SPJ announcement

Published by spjonadepaul

Official website for DePaul University's Society of Professional Journalists chapter.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: