DePaul Students Win 19 SPJ Region 5 Mark of Excellence Awards

SPJ Region 5 MOE Awards Photo
Members of SPJ DePaul's executive board pose with awards from Good Day DePaul and The Red Line Project.

DePaul University journalism students won 19 awards — including six first-place finishes — at the SPJ Region 5 Mark of Excellence Awards April 14 in Indianapolis.

The six winners advance to the national Mark of Excellence Awards to compete with 11 other regions. Those winners will be announced in late September.

Region 5 covers universities and colleges in Illinois, Indiana and Kentucky.

The list of winners:


Best all-around student newscast: Good Day DePaul, FIRST PLACE

Best independent student website: The Red Line Project, SECOND PLACE

Best affiliated student website: The DePaulia, SECOND PLACE

Best student newspaper, non-daily: The DePaulia, THIRD PLACE


Good Day DePaul

TV General News Reporting: Occupy Chicago Coverage, Rashanah Baldwin and Miguel Torres, SECOND PLACE

TV General News Reporting: 9/11 10th Anniversary Coverage: Courtney Sturgeon, THIRD PLACE

The Red Line Project

Online News Reporting: Blizzard 2011 Coverage (The Staff of the Red Line Project), FIRST PLACE

Online Opinion Writing: Sports Journalism in a Digital World, Sam Kraft, FIRST PLACE

Online News Reporting: Chicago Mayoral Inauguration: AnnCatherine Brady, Bree Tuch and Blythe Meyer, SECOND PLACE

Online In-Depth Reporting: 10 Remember 9/11, The Staff of the Red Line Project, SECOND PLACE

Online Feature Reporting: Firefighter Steve Serb (10 Remember 9/11), Holly Pennebaker, THIRD PLACE

Online Sports Reporting: Chicago’s Young Athletes Deal With Life in the Limelight, Lauren Klopmeyer and Alex Soulier, THIRD PLACE

The DePaulia

Print Breaking News: When in Rome …, Dominic Zinn, FIRST PLACE

Print Sports Opinion Writing: Julian Zeng, FIRST PLACE

Print Feature Photography: Train 7473, Bartosz Brzezinski, FIRST PLACE

Editorial Cartooning: Typical DePaul Student, Matt Iammarino, SECOND PLACE

Online Opinion Writing: This is Our War; Rachel Metea, Michael Collins and Peter Dziedzic, SECOND PLACE

Print Breaking News Photography: Election night disappointment, Bartosz Brzezinski, THIRD PLACE

Print Feature Writing: Chicago’s Strip Search, Cheryl Waity, THIRD PLACE

Published by spjonadepaul

Official website for DePaul University's Society of Professional Journalists chapter.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: