SPJ DePaul Outstanding Leadership Award Winners: Lauren Camplin and Katie Karpowicz

SPJ DePaul founding members Lauren Camplin and Katie Karpowicz received the organization’s highest honor on June 9 — the Outstanding Leadership Award.

Nicknamed the “SPJ MVP award” by the students, the award recognizes significant contributions to the chapter by its executive board members.

Both Camplin and Karpowicz helped launch the chapter as sophomores in 2010. Camplin served as vice president for 2 1/2 years and Karpowicz as membership coordinator and events/programming coordinator.

They worked with exec board members to organize 11 events and brought membership to 63 in the chapter’s first two years. SPJ DePaul was named the National Campus Chapter of the Year and the Region 5 Campus Chapter of the year in 2011, as well as DePaul’s Most Outstanding Student Organization.

Camplin and Karpowicz received their award plaques at the DePaul University College of Communication graduation brunch at the Union League Club. Both students graduated from DePaul this spring.

Published by spjonadepaul

Official website for DePaul University's Society of Professional Journalists chapter.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: