DePaul Students Win 16 SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards

SPJ DePaul’s outgoing executive board with some of their Red Line Project and Good Day DePaul awards.

DePaul University College of Communication journalism students won 16 SPJ Region 5 Mark of Excellence Awards Saturday at a ceremony in St. Louis. Region 5 covers schools in Illinois, Indiana and Kentucky.

First-place finishers advance to the national Mark of Excellence competition and will compete against winners from 11 other regions.

Good Day DePaul

1st Place: TV In-Depth Reporting (Eva Green)

2nd Place: Best All-Around TV Newscast

2nd Place: TV Sports Reporting (Ryann Rumbaugh)

2nd Place: TV In-Depth Reporting (Courtney Sturgeon)

Third Place: TV Breaking News Reporting (Jenn Schanz)

Third Place: TV Feature Reporting (Dakari Turner)

Red Line Project

1st Place: Online News Reporting (Election Night Staff Coverage)

1st Place: Online In-Depth Coverage (Election Night Preview/Voter’s Guide)

2nd Place: Best Affiliated Website (Red Line Project)

Third Place: Online In-Depth Coverage (NATO Summit Preview Guide)

Third Place: Online Sports Reporting (Chicago Sidelines/The Red Line Project Staff)

The DePaulia

1st Place: Feature Photography (Joanie Faletto)

2nd Place: Best All-Around Non-Daily Student Newspaper

2nd Place: Breaking News Photography (Bartosz Brzezinski)

Third Place: General News Photography (Grant Myatt)

Third Place: Feature Writing (Joanie Faletto)

Published by spjonadepaul

Official website for DePaul University's Society of Professional Journalists chapter.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: